Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Some progress and stuff

 (TL;DR  Boob MRI didn't happen, info sent to assistance office, stress ensues.10 cents left in the bank)


 Favorite picture of a rhododendron from my trip to Washington over 10 years ago. Because I need something pretty to look at.

I was supposed to have an MRI done on my left boob this morning, bright and early check in at 9:45 so wake up at 7. I had already done the online check in, filled out the MRI form about metal installed any implants and such a week ago.

 So here's how it went. I got there way too early (15 minutes before my check in time because I overestimated the amount of traffic at that hour) so had some time to sit and knit and wait. And wait. Finally called me in at 10:20 and got me changed into a double hospital gown and I waited in my skivvies, not even my glasses on, waiting for another ten minutes or so when a tech came back and double checked about my implant on the right and I told him yes, it's an expander and I had noted that on my pre check in form. He said yeah, I'm talking with my lead on that, sorry for the delay. He went away, waited another ten or so minutes and he cam back again, I said 'I have the little card with the info about it. So gave it to him and turns out, right there it says 'Not MRI compatible'. Like I had noted on the form.

Needless to say, they couldn't do the MRI because my expander has a small metal ring where they would do the saline injection for expanding.   Hence, hesitation/cancellation. Well, not cancellation because he said 'we'll have to get back to you and reschedule.' Um, pretty much not going to be a different answer until I get the expander out which may not happen for another two or three months. Honestly this was all because of a shadow that was on the left side last year and they wanted to check it again. Last year BEFORE I had the surgery. I've had lots of other things going on so memory was kind of muddy about the timing.

Anyway, had to get some last groceries to coast us to the end of the month on the way home. Picked up Jon and went to the store, total of four things on the list that were needed, total came to ten cents under what I had left in the bank. Talk about going broke on groceries. It was 1/2 gal of milk, loaf of bread, bag of tortilla chips, case of water and a 12 pack of cokes (Home Depot has them for $2 less than the grocery store). That was it and all totaled came to $26 and change. That's it for our money.

Now then, on to the info exchange. Called 'Jamie' the rep that contacted me, told her our situation in short, she understood and because this is strictly my bill and the fact that Jon didn't file his as there wasn't anything to claim or file, she's designating me as a single household and his income doesn't come into play. Got off the phone with her, found the documents needed on my computer (minus one, forgot to include 2024 tax return but just sent that off now).  She said sometimes it's six days, sometimes six weeks or so for them to make a determination on grants and assistance and I would have to make any payments on the treatment balance and then get reimbursed.  Which means they had better have a lower payment plan than the other account right now or get me reimbursed pronto.

So just a bit stressed out right now about all this as anyone should be. When you have no money to pay bills and they suggest a payment plan, they don't seem to be hearing the words the same way I am meaning them. Shall I pull out a list of all my bills and show the bottom line that may well be negative?

 I keep only considering my income in all this because I forget that Jon can contribute. He cancelled yet another entertainment channel that was the last holdout, Paramount+ because that has Star Trek on it. So he now has fewer bills than I do and has a larger check every month. Hoping that he remembers that I asked him not to spend money on other things going forward. He literally has more disposable income than I do so will be asking/reminding him I need help with the household bills other than rent.

More info when things happen. 

 

No comments: